Two Brampton MPPs named to Doug Ford’s new cabinet


Published June 24, 2022 at 1:51 pm


Ontario Premier Doug Ford has announced cabinet selections for his second majority term, including two Brampton MPPs.

The PC Party of Ontario swept Brampton in the provincial election earlier this month, unseating noteable NDP incumbents and helping secure an 82-seat majority for the party.

Ford announced his cabinet on Friday, which will see Brampton South MPP Prabmeet Sarkaria resume his role as president of the Treasury Board with an expanded mandate for emergency management and procurement, including Supply Ontario.

First-time MPP Charmaine Williams, who was formerly a Brampton City Councillor for Wards 7 and 8, has been named Associate Minister of Women’s Social and Economic Opportunity.

RELATED: Brampton rides the blue wave as all five ridings now belong to Doug Ford

Williams won the riding of Brampton Centre with 10,120 total votes, beating out incumbent NDP candidate and deputy leader Sara Singh by nearly 3,600 votes.

Williams’ move to Queen’s Park from Brampton City Hall has led to a split on council regarding how to fill her empty seat, as Brampton Mayor Patrick Brown and four Brampton councillors are refusing to attend meetings which would see retired councillor Elaine Moore appointed to William’s old post.

Sarkaria won Brampton South with 12,980 total votes, which was over 5,000 ballots more than Ontario Liberal Party runner-up Marilyn Raphael.

INsauga's Editorial Standards and Policies