Public invited as newly elected Hamilton mayor Andrea Horwath, city council sworn in


Published November 15, 2022 at 12:32 pm

Newly-elected Hamilton mayor Andrea Horwath and members of city council will be sworn in for their four-year terms at the inaugural meeting Wednesday night.

Hamilton will get its first look at the newly elected city council Wednesday night.

Newly-elected mayor Andrea Horwath, the first woman to hold the position in Hamilton’s 181-year history, and members of council will be sworn in for their four-year terms at the inaugural meeting.


The newly elected council members include:


  • Andrea Horwath

Ward Councillors

  • Ward 1 – Maureen Wilson
  • Ward 2 – Cameron Kroetsch
  • Ward 3 – Nrinder Nann
  • Ward 4 – Tammy Hwang
  • Ward 5 – Matt Francis
  • Ward 6 – Tom Jackson
  • Ward 7 – Esther Pauls
  • Ward 8 – John-Paul Danko
  • Ward 9 – Brad Clark
  • Ward 10 – Jeff Beattie
  • Ward 11 – Mark Tadeson
  • Ward 12 – Craig Cassar
  • Ward 13 – Alex Wilson
  • Ward 14 – Mike Spadafora
  • Ward 15 – Ted McMeekin

The meeting is free to attend, and rather than city hall, the event will be held at the Hamilton Convention Centre by Carmen’s to meet capacity demands.

The city says seating for community members is available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Doors open at 5:45 p.m., with the meeting scheduled for 6:30 p.m.

The ceremony and meeting will be broadcast on Cable 14 and posted to the City of Hamilton YouTube channel following the event.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising