Hamilton says municipal election results are certified, 3 days after vote


Published October 27, 2022 at 4:45 pm

hamilton votes down vacant unit tax

In the next day or so, residents of Hamilton who are statistically inclined will be able to deep-dive into local election results.

The City of Hamilton stated late Thursday that it has certified the results for the 2022 municipal election that was held three days prior, with tallies uploaded at hamilton.ca. Candidates are getting poll-by-poll results during the course of the business day, and they “anticipated” to be online on Friday (Oct. 28).

“Poll by poll elections results will be shared with candidates today and are anticipated to be posted to the City’s website tomorrow,” a City of Hamilton release added.

The election staging was not without some hitches. The city apologized for a privacy breach after email addresses of residents who wanted to vote by mail were inadvertently leaked. On Monday, 12 polls across seven wards had extended voting times after opening late. The delays occured in wards 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12 and 13.

Citywide turnout has been certified at 35.38 per cent. It is listed at 38.7 for 2018. Almost five thousand fewer people voted four years ago, but the city says it added 44,000 eligible voters in 2022.

Andrea Horwath was elected as the first woman mayor in the city’s history on Monday. Her margin of victory against runner-up Keanin Loomis has been certified as 1,663 votes and 1.17 percentage points.

Biggest turnout in wards that elected environmentalists

The wards with the largest participation were 12 and 13, whose incoming councillors are cofounders of the conservation group Save Our Streams Hamilton (SOSH). The city says 12,785 voters turned out in Ward 12 (Ancaster), where Coun.-elect Craig Cassar was elected with a 38.8 vote share. That gave Cassar an nearly 18½-point margin on runner-up Chuck Alkerton.

Ward 13 (Dundas) had 12,148 ballots cast. Exactly 7,038 were for Coun.-elect Alex Wilson, who at age 25, will be the youngest councillor. Wilson had a nearly 16-point margin over defeated two-term incumbent Arlene VanderBeek. They actually got more votes than there were ballots cast in Ward 9, which had the smallest turnout.

In Ward 9, 7,025 ballots were cast as Coun. Brad Clark earned his fourth term. Clark’s vote share is certified at 51.56.

INsauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising