Mayors’ races in Niagara Region all drawing multiple candidates


Published August 22, 2022 at 11:02 am

It's crowded in the race for Niagara Falls Mayor as three-time incumbent Jim Diodati is facing off against six challengers.

While town-city councillor and regional councillor races are rife with candidates, 11 out of 12 Niagara Region incumbent mayors are being challenged for the top spot.

The only incumbent mayor to step away from the position is Walter Sendzik from the St. Catharines top spot.

In Fort Erie, incumbent mayor Wayne Redekop has two challengers in Daniel Favero and Peter Taras, both of whom signed up before Redekop submitted his papers in mid-July.

In Grimsby, Jeff Jordan, who had his nomination in by early may, has just one challenger in John Dunstall.

In Lincoln, two-time incumbent Sandra Easton is facing only one opponent, as well – Terry Farrell.

Looking to win a second term in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Betty Disero, is being opposed by both Gary Zalepa and Vaughn Goettler.

Niagara Falls Mayor Jim Diodati will be running for an unprecedented fourth term, looking to break the previous 12-year record of former mayor Wayne Thomson but there’s no shortage of challengers in this one as six people are running against him. They are: Grant Hall, Sandra Marie MacKinnon, Muhammad Shafique, Connie Topolinsky, Roland Weeks and Joe White.

Pelham Mayor Marvin Junkin was uncontested as recently as two weeks ago but challenger Frank Adamson has thrown his hat in the ring.

The Port Colborne Mayor’s race will be the most interesting one of all as two-term incumbent Bill Steele is being challenged by his own brother Charles Steele.

With Walter Sendzik stepping away, the St Catharine’s mayoral race got interesting just before deadline (August 19, 2 pm). Regional Councillor Mat Siscoe was the lone candidate for a long stretch before another regional councillor Mike Britton threw his name into the race. The week closed out with Nick Petrucci submitting his nomination papers to make it a three-person race.

Two-term Thorold Mayor Terry Ugulini, also unchallenged as recently as two weeks ago, saw Damon Ford step into the race recently.

Wainfleet Mayor Kevin Gibson was also unopposed two weeks ago until Alfred Kiers his name in early last week and Brian Grant added his on deadline day.

Welland Mayor Frank Campion, now seeking a third term, is facing a challenge from Jeffrey David Walters.

Lastly, Niagara’s most controversial mayor, the ardent anti-vaxxer West Lincoln’s Dave Bylsma is being challenged by fellow West Lincoln councillor Cheryl Ganann, as well as Greg Stephens.

INsauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising