Here’s Why Some Canadian Uber Users Could Lose Access to the Popular App
Uber is taking a new step to make ride-sharing a pleasant experience for both drivers and passengers.
Uber riders and drivers will see a full summary of the Community Guidelines and will be asked to confirm that they understand or they may lose access to Uber.
Riders can now lose access to the app if they develop a significantly below average rating. The app will give riders tips on how to improve their ratings, such as being polite to drivers and other riders, avoiding leaving trash in the vehicle and not requesting drivers to exceed the speed limit.
Riders will have several opportunities to improve their rating before losing access to the Uber app.
Uber said in a statement that: “Respect is a two-way street, and so is accountability. Drivers have long been expected to meet a minimum rating threshold which can vary city to city. While we expect only a small number of riders to ultimately be impacted by ratings-based deactivations, it’s the right thing to do.”
Uber hopes to educate the entire community about the new guidelines and make the experience of using the app safer and more enjoyable for both riders and drivers.
Further improvements for the app include new safety features and technology, strengthened driver screening, and new policies.
The updated Community Guidelines go into effect in Canada and the U.S. first, with more countries to follow soon.