Crombie steps aside, Burlington mayor takes helm of Ontario Big City Mayors


Published May 24, 2023 at 2:16 pm

Burlington Mayor Marianne Meed Ward (left) and Mississauga Mayor Bonnie Crombie.

Burlington Mayor Marianne Meed Ward has been named acting chair of the group that represents Ontario’s largest municipalities.

Meed Ward moves up from the vice-chair position of the Ontario Big City Mayors (OBCM) caucus as current chair Bonnie Crombie steps down from the post and considers a run for the party leadership of the Ontario Liberals.

“Looking forward to working with the entire caucus through this next period,” Meed Ward announced through social media channels.

The organization’s bylaws determined the necessity of the moves.

OBCM is comprised of mayors of Ontario cities and towns with populations of 100,000 or more. The group represents nearly 70 per cent of the province’s population. It serves as a voice for large municipalities to develop unified policies and lobby senior levels of government on matters ranging from housing, transit, budgetary and social issues.

The vice-chair’s position will now be filled from the current ranks of caucus members. Mississauga will also be able to replace Crombie on the board from amongst current members of city councillors.


insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising