Clarington Senior of the Year, school kids honoured

Posted by

Published July 8, 2021 at 3:01 pm


Clarington honoured 21 elementary school students, seven high school students and one very special senior on Monday night.

Jill Richardson was named Clarington Senior of the Year (Ontario Honours and Awards Program) for her work with Clarington Hospice and the Newcastle’s of the World Committee, with Clarington Mayor Adrian presenting the award and thanking her for her service to the community.

The 2021 Awards of Academic Excellence, now celebrating 20 years, was also on the agenda Monday night, with one graduating student from each school recognized for their academic excellence combined with a commitment to leadership and community service.

Elementary school winners were Frida Mills, Courtice Intermediate School; Olivia Wall, Courtice North Public School; Kate Smith, Dr. Emily Stowe Public School; l Samantha Putnam, Dr. Ross Tilley Public School; Kacie Stolarek, Duke of Cambridge Public School; and Shaydon Cannon, Good Shepherd Elementary School.

Also honoured were Emilie Sheehan, Harold Longworth Public School; Gabriella Kuzmanovski, Holy Family Elementary School; Owen Weales, John M. James Public School; Hailey Engelage, Knox Christian School; Lia Brooke Mugford, Lydia Trull Public School; and Hannah Sluymers, M.J. Hobbs Senior Public School.

Other students recognized were Ava Taylor, Monsignor Leo Cleary Elementary School; Talia Pudlik, St. Elizabeth Elementary School; Ciara Dvernichuk, St. Francis of Assisi Elementary School; Leah Ridout, St. Joseph’s Elementary School; Carter Beatty, St. Mother Teresa Elementary School; Ayesha Iqbal, S.T. Worden Public School; Maddie Legg, The Pines Senior Public School; Alexandra Speakman, Vincent Massey School; and Aliyah Wirch, Waverley Public School.

Secondary school students honoured included Nawal Elshamiy, Bowmanville High School; Victoriana Domingos, Clarington Central Secondary School; Julia Taylor, Clarke High School; Reaghan Stamp, Courtice Secondary School; Ezinne Arki, Durham Christian High School; Alexandra Topolnikov, Holy Trinity Secondary School; and Emily Ashton, St. Stephens Secondary School.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies

Related News