City of Brampton confirms official municipal election results


Published October 28, 2022 at 3:07 pm


The official results of Monday’s municipal election are in, and less than 25 per cent of eligible Brampton voters cast their ballots.

The City of Brampton has issued the official results for the 2022 Brampton Municipal and School Board Election which saw incumbent Mayor Patrick Brown win a second term in office with a landslide victory.

Incumbent City and Regional Councillor Gurpreet Dhillon was the only councillor running for re-election who was not voted in, losing the race in Wards 9 and 10 to council newcomer Gurpartap Singh Toor.

The results have been verified and approved by the City Clerk and Returning Officer. The City says a total of 87,115 voters cast their vote during the election period, representing just 24.56 per cent of Brampton’s eligible voter base of 354,884.

The new term of council is set to have its first special meeting on Nov. 16, and its first regular meeting of council on Nov. 30.

You can review all of Insauag’s Brampton municipal election coverage here.

Here are all the winners in Brampton’s municipal election:

Patrick Brown

Regional Councillors
Wards 1 & 5: Paul Vicente
Wards 2 & 6: Michael Paul Palleschi
Wards 3 & 4: Martin Medeiros
Wards 7 & 8: Pat Fortini
Wards 9 & 10: Gurpartap Singh Toor

City Councillors
Wards 1 & 5: Rowena Santos
Wards 2 & 6: Navjit Kaur Brar
Wards 3 & 4: Dennis Keenan
Wards 7 & 8: Rod Power
Wards 9 & 10: Harkirat Singh

Peel District School Board Trustees
Wards 1 & 5: David Green
Wards 2 & 6: Will Davies
Wards 3 & 4: Kathy McDonald
Wards 7 & 8: Karla Bailey
Wards 9 & 10: Satpaul Singh Johal

Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board Trustees
Wards 1, 3 & 4: Anisha Thomas
Wards 2, 5 & 6: Darryl Brian D’Souza
Wards 7, 8, 9 & 10: Shawn Xaviour

Conseil scolaire Viamonde Trustee (for Region of Peel)
Acclaimed – Yvon Rochefort
Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir Trustee (for City of Brampton, Town of Caledon, City of Guelph and the municipalities in Dufferin and Wellington Counties)
Genevieve Grenier

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising