Live 2022 Brampton municipal election results for mayor, council, and school board trustees


Published October 24, 2022 at 5:51 pm

Business is booming with record-breaking $2.3 billion year for economic development in Brampton

Incumbent candidate Patrick Brown has won a second term as mayor of Brampton, and there are four new members on Brampton City Council.

Elected in 2018 after stepping down as leader of the Ontario PC Party, Brown made a failed bid earlier this year for leader of the Conservative Party of Canada before being disqualified from the race over allegations his campaign broke election finance rules.

Brown faced off against five other candidates, including Nikki Kaur, Bob Dosanjh Singh, Vidya Sagar Gautam, Prabh Kaur Mand, and Tony Moracci.


Patrick Brown wins mayoral race in Brampton securing second term

Gurpreet Dhillon only Brampton incumbent councillor not reelected

New Brampton Councillor Navjit Kaur Brar first turban-wearing Sikh woman elected in Canada

Live Election Results for Brampton


Brampton is made up of 10 wards, and this year, two long-time councillors were not seeking re-election.

Wards 2 and 6 Councillor Doug Whillans and Wards 3 and 4 Councillor Jeff Bowman both announced they would not seek re-election earlier this year.

There was also no incumbent seeking re-election for City Councillor in Wards 7 and 8, as former councillor Charmaine Williams won the riding of Brampton Centre for the PC Party of Ontario in the provincial election this summer.

Incumbent City and Regional Councillor Gurpreet Dhillon was defeated in Wards 9 and 10 by council newcomer Gurpartap Singh Toor. Dhillon was the only sitting councillor up for reelection who was beaten out.

Candidates declared for Brampton City Council:

  • City and Regional Councillor Wards 1&5: Paul Vicente (incumbent)
  • City and Regional Councillor Wards 2&6: Michael Palleschi (incumbent)
  • City and Regional Councillor Wards 3&4: Martin Medeiros (incumbent)
  • City and Regional Councillor Wards 7&8: Pat Fortini (incumbent)
  • City and Regional Councillor Wards 9&10: Gurpartap Singh Toor
  • City Councillor Wards 1&5: Rowena Santos (incumbent)
  • City Councillor Wards 2&6: Navjit Kaur Brar
  • City Councillor Wards 3&4: Dennis Keenan
  • City Councillor Wards 7&8: Rod Power
  • City Councillor Wards 9&10: Harkirat Singh (incumbent)

School board trustees candidates

Brampton residents chose who will act as trustees with the Peel District School Board, the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board, the Conseil scolaire Viamonde (French public) and the Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir (French separate). 

There are 10 seats in total, with some wards being combined. 

English Public Board:

  • Wards 1&5: David Green
  • Wards 2&6: Will Davies
  • Wards 3&4: Kathy McDonald
  • Wards 7&8: Karla Bailey
  • Wards 9&10: Satpaul Singh Johal

English Separate Board:

  • Wards 1, 3&4: Anisha Thomas
  • Wards 2, 5&6: Darryl Brian D’Souza
  • Wards 7, 8, 9&10: Shawn Xaviour

French-language board winners (ward by ward):

  • Conseil scolaire Viamonde: Yvon Rochefort (acclaimed)
  • Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir: Genevieve Grenier
insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising