With 224 years of history here are the 8 oldest neighbourhoods in Mississauga

Published November 26, 2022 at 8:17 am

Mississauga history

The town of Mississauga was established in 1968 and was incorporated as a city in 1974 but the individual neighbourhoods that make up the city have been around for more then 200 years.

Here are the oldest neighbourhoods in Mississauga:

8 – Dixie

First Area Land Grant 1806
Accepted Establishment Date 1864
First Post Office 1864 (Fountain Hill, later changed to Dixie)
Dates of Significance 1810 (Oldest Mississauga cemetery established)
Officially named 1865 (in honour of Dr. Beaumont Dixie)
Other unofficial names Sydenham, Fountain Hill, Irish Town, Corktown

Burnhamthorpe – Dixie Road looking south at Burnhamthorpe Road, c1900

7 – Meadowvale Village

First Area Land Grant 1819 (John Beatty and others) Registered in 1821.
Accepted Establishment Date 1836
First Post Office 1857
Date of Significance 1837 (arrival of John Simpson, popular founder)
Officially named c.1857
Other unofficial names Meadowvale

Commercial Hotel, Meadowvale, c1900

6 – Port Credit

First Area Land Grant Uncertain
First Settler Prior to 1805 (Thomas Ingersoll, Government Inn)
Accepted Establishment Date 1835
First Post Office 1842
Dates of Significance 1805 (Treaty 13A signed)
1835 (village surveyed)
1855 (Great Western Railway)
1909 (incorporated as a Police Village)
1914 (attained “Village” status)
1961 (attained “Town” status)
Officially named c.1835
Other unofficial names none recorded

Port Credit Harbour Scene, Stonehooker Lillian in harbour, 1908

5 – Erindale

First Area Land Grant 1822 (Thomas Racey)
Accepted Establishment Date c1830
First Post Office 1831 (Credit)
Dates of Significance 1919 (fire)
Officially named 1900 (Erindale)
Other unofficial names Credit, Toronto, Springfield, Springfield-on-the-Credit

Erindale – Dundas looking east

4 – Malton

First Area Land Grant 1820 (Richard Halliday and James Townley)
Accepted Establishment Date 1820
First Post Office 1856
Dates of Significance 1854 (village site surveyed)
1856 (Grand Trunk Railway)
1859 (Malton selected as county seat)
1914 (incorporated as a Police Village)
Officially named Late 1820s
Other unofficial names none recorded

Thomas Blain Allen’s General Store, Malton, c1900

3 – Streetsville

First Area Land Grant 1819 (James Glendinning)
Accepted Establishment Date 1819 (Arrival of Timothy Street)
1857 (Incorporation as a Village)
First Post Office 1829
Dates of Significance 1844 (First Township Hall)
1857 (Incorporated Village)
1879 (Credit Valley Railway)
1885 (first telephone installed)
1962 (attained “Town” status)
Officially named c1824
Other unofficial names Street’s Mills

Queen Street looking south on Main Street

2 – Cooksville

First Area Land Grant 1808 (Daniel Harris)
Accepted Establishment Date 1808 (Harrisville) & 1836 (Cooksville)
First Post Office 1839 (unofficially 1836)
Dates of Significance 1873 (Establishment of Toronto Township Hall)
Officially named 1836 (in honour of Jacob Cook)
Other unofficial names Harrisville

Cooksville – Dundas Street, looking east, intersection of 5 and 10, c1900

1 – Clarkson

First Area Land Grant 1807 (Henry Gable)
Accepted Establishment Date 1808 (Merigold’s Point)
First Post Office 1875 (Clarkson), 1858 (Sheridan)
Dates of Significance 1855 (dubbed “Clarkson’s” by railway and arrival of the Great Western Railway)
Officially named 1855 (in honour of Warren Clarkson)
Other unofficial names Merigold’s Point, Clarkson’s Corners, Clarkson’s

Clarkson General Store, Clarkson Road looking South, c1900

All images are courtesy of Heritage Mississauga.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising