New services, new bus route names part of transit plans in Mississauga


Published July 2, 2024 at 9:34 am

MiWay service changes in Mississauga.

People riding the buses in Mississauga will notice a number of changes to MiWay’s transit services starting this week.

For starters, 18 of the public transit provider’s bus routes have been renamed, with brevity in mind, so passengers can more easily spot the bus they need to board.

MiWay officials said the renamed routes will allow waiting passengers to more quickly read the route number and destination on the LED destination signs on the forehead of the buses.

“MiWay is changing some route names so they are easier to read on the bus destination signs and follow a more consistent route-naming convention. There is no change to the actual routing of these services or the bus route number.”

Officials added the changes will “eliminate unnecessarily long route names, so bus routes are easier to identify on-street. This is especially helpful at bus stops that are served by multiple routes.”

Following are the routes that have been renamed:

  • 1C Dundas-Collegeway becomes 1C Dundas
  • 4 Sherway Gardens — 4 North Service Road
  • 9 Rathburn-Thomas — 9 Rathburn
  • 10 Bristol-Britannia — 10 Bristol
  • 14A Lorne Park Industrial — 14A Lorne Park
  • 18 McLaughlin-Derry — 18 Derry
  • 29 Park Royal-Homelands — 29 Park Royal
  • 36 Colonial-Ridgeway — 36 Ridgeway
  • 38A Creditview-Argentia — 38 Creditview
  • 43 Matheson-Argentia — 43 Matheson
  • 45A Winston Churchill-Speakman — 45A Winston Churchill
  • 46 Tenth Line-Osprey — 46 Tenth Line
  • 49A McDowell-Streetsville GO — 49A McDowell
  • 57 Courtneypark via Infield Loop — 57A Courtneypark
  • 71 Sheridan-Subway — 71 Sheridan
  • 76 City Centre-Subway — 76 Burnhamthorpe
  • 87 Meadowvale-Skymark — 87 Skymark
  • 108 Meadowvale Business Express — 108 Financial Express

Meanwhile, various service changes/upgrades have also been introduced this week, including more trips on Routes 49A McDowell and 70 Keaton in response to increased rider demand.

Also, as schools have let out for the summer, the regular 300-series MiWay school routes will stop running from July 2 until school begins again on Sept. 3, officials said.

However, three summer school bus routes will run until July 29 (Rick Hansen and Stephen Lewis secondary schools).

For other summer school locations, officials said existing bus routes will be altered to meet student transit needs.

Schedule adjustments have also been made on the following routes “to improve service reliability as traffic and ridership patterns continue to evolve,” transit officials said:

  • 13 Glen Erin (Saturday)
  • 29 Park Royal (weekdays, Saturday and Sunday)
  • 35 Eglinton (Saturday and Sunday)
  • 51 Tomken (weekdays and Saturday)
  • 53 Kennedy (weekdays)
  • 101 Dundas Express (Saturday)
  • 103 Hurontario Express (weekdays)

For more details, visit the MiWay website.

(Cover photo: MiWay)

INsauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising