New poll puts one candidate far ahead in Mississauga mayoral race


Published May 6, 2024 at 8:35 am

city hall mississauga

A new Mississauga mayoral poll gives veteran politician Carolyn Parrish a large lead.

Mississauga residents will go to the polls on June 10 after former mayor Bonnie Crombie vacated the position in January to lead the Ontario Liberal Party. There are 20 people vying to be the city’s seventh mayor.

Early polls had put Parrish in the lead along with Ward 2 Coun. Alvin Tedjo and Ward 7 Coun. Dipika Damerla. But the latest poll shows the former Ward 5 councillor and Member of Parliament, well ahead of fellow candidates in the race.

Public opinion research firm Liaison Strategies released the latest poll today (May 6). Liaison is a member of the Canadian Research Insights Council.

Mississauga has never seen so many candidates run for mayor and the race saw several changes leading up to the deadline to file.

“Just on candidate filings and withdrawals alone a lot has taken place in the Mississauga byelection,” said David Valentin, principal at Liaison Strategies.

Brian Crombie, ex-husband of the former mayor, filed in the last week. And Peter McCallion, son of the longest-serving mayor of Mississauga, Hazel McCallion, dropped out and endorsed Parrish.

“In the midst of all these comings and goings, Brian Crombie has debuted with seven per cent support among all voters, and Councillor Stephen Dasko has gained three per cent and is now at 11 per cent,” said Valentin. “However, the real story is former councillor (and former MP) Carolyn Parrish has grown her support by eight points and now enjoys a 17 point lead.”

The poll found Parrish’s support is strongest among seniors, who are among the most reliable voters in elections.

Councillors Damerla at 20 per cent and Tedjo at 17 per cent are next in the poll. Damerla does best among seniors while Tedjo does best with the 18- to 34-year-old cohort, the poll found.

Here are the full poll results:

Among all voters
28 per cent – Carolyn Parrish (+10)
15 per cent – Dipika Damerla (no change)
13 per cent – Alvin Tedjo (no change)
8 per cent – Stephen Dasko (+3)
5 per cent – Brian Crombie (new candidate)
4 per cent – George Tavares (no change)
2 per cent – David Shaw (no change)
25 per cent Undecided (-12)

Decided voters only
37 per cent – Carolyn Parrish (+8)
20 per cent – Dipika Damerla (-4)
17 per cent – Alvin Tedjo (-4)
11 per cent – Stephen Dasko (+3)
7 per cent – Brian Crombie (new candidate)
5 per cent – George Tavares (-1)
3 per cent – David Shaw (no change)

The poll was conducted for the National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada on April 29 and 30, using interactive voice response technology, the poll surveyed 907 Mississauga residents. The margin of error for the poll is +/- 3.25 per cent, 19 times out of 20.

For more information, see the Liaison Strategies website here.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising