New Catholic board student trustees are from Oakville, Milton, Burlington


Published March 9, 2023 at 11:52 am

New student trustees, from left, Lauren McGuire, Diya Deepu and Arianna Chua.

Three new student trustees have been officially named to the Halton Catholic District School Board for the 2023-2024 school year.

All HCDSB secondary schools submitted candidates who demonstrated extensive involvement in their respective school, parish and local communities, as well as those individuals who demonstrated a strong commitment to their faith.

Here are the three new trustees.

Diya Deepu is a Grade 10 Honour Roll student at Assumption Catholic Secondary School in Burlington.

She is actively involved in leadership positions with the Student Senate, Student Council, Crusader Council as well as “Assumption and the World”.

Deepu has worked alongside several community support organizations and is currently the co-chair of the Halton Youth Voices Council, the Lead Senator of Assumption, and co-chair of the Catholic Faith in Action Subcommittee. She is an active member of the youth music ministry at Divine Retreat Centre Toronto.

“I am so honoured and grateful to have been elected as the HCDSB Student Trustee for the 2023-2024 school year,” she said.

“I’m looking forward to working with my fellow student trustees, the student senate and the noard to create a positive impact throughout our community.”

Arianna Chua is currently a Grade 11 Honour Roll student at St. Francis Xavier Catholic Secondary School in Milton.

Chua is the current North Halton Student Trustee, co-president of STFX student council, Environmental Sustainability co-chair with the Ontario Student Trustee Association, and an intern with Milton MP Adam van Koeverden.

“Being re-elected as the North Halton Student Trustee this year was the greatest honour of my life. I am so grateful that my HCDSB students re-elected me to serve them another year,” said Chua.

“I can’t wait to work with my fellow student trustees next year, empowering and uplifting student voice at the HCDSB.”

Lauren McGuire is a Grade 10 Honour Roll student at St. Ignatius of Loyola Catholic Secondary School in Oakville.

She is the co-lead of Loyola’s Home Senate as well as Student Senate Special Education Sub-Committee co-chair, HCDSB Equity Group, and the EQAO Student Advisory, a provincial level committee.

“It is a privilege to be voted by my peers to represent Oakville as a Student Trustee,” said McGuire.

“I hope to bring student voice at the board and provincial level and help make our school board a better place.”

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising