Live 2022 Milton municipal election results for mayor, council, and school board trustees

Published October 24, 2022 at 11:50 pm

Milton has two new town councillors, and Canada’s longest serving mayor has been re-elected.

Gordon Krantz, 85, has been the mayor of Milton since 1980 and was first elected to council in 1965. Krantz has been re-elected for 21 terms; eight as councillor and 13 as mayor, officially surpassing now-retired Hazel McCallion, who served as Mississauga’s mayor for 36 years. He has been elected to another term.

BREAKING: Gordon Krantz re-elected Milton mayor

Joining Krantz on council will be two newcomers.

Sammy Ijaz has been elected as town and regional councillor for Ward 3 defeating incumbent Mike Cluett and Sarah Marshall has been elected has been elected town councillor for Ward 4. They will join incumbents who have been re-elected in their wards.

Live Election Results for Milton:


  • Gordon Krantz elected — Zeeshan Hamid, Saba Ishaq and Rajiv Dhawan.

Zeeshan Hamid, Ward 4 regional councillor, says Milton needs a modern GO Station with more frequent two-way service, and doesn’t need a CN Intermodal Hub. Saba Ishaq wants Milton to become a city and names transportation and safer streets as priorities. Rajiv Dhawan says a safe and healthy community is first on his agenda.

Regional Council

Milton has four representatives on Halton Regional Council. But Milton’s regional council representatives may not look much different after the election. The incumbents for Wards 1 and 2 don’t have any contenders. Ward 3 may have a new councillor; and only Ward 4 will have a fresh face as incumbent Zeeshan Hamid is vying for mayor.

  • Ward 1: Colin Best (acclaimed)
  • Ward 2: Rick Malboeuf (acclaimed)
  • Ward 3: Sammy Ijaz elected : Mike Cluett (incumbent) and Rick Di Lorenzo.
  • Ward 4: Sameera Ali elected : Syed Raza, Mahmood Chaudhry


The town council race looks a bit more exciting with many candidates on the ballot. Wards 1 and 2 both have challengers for the incumbents. Ward 3 councillor Rick Di Lorenzo is trying for a seat on regional council and there are five people hoping to take his place. Ward 4 incumbent Sameera Ali is also hoping for a regional council seat, and there are 10 people vying to take her spot.

  • Ward 1: Kristina Tesser Derksen elected : and George Minakakis
  • Ward 2: John Challinor elected : and Michael Vertolli
  • Ward 3: Adil Khalqi elected : Manju Sekhri, Patrick Murphy, Gilles Paquette and Patricia Belvedere
  • Ward 4: Sarah Marshall elected : Khurshid Ali Khan, Samar Tariq, Giles vanderHolt, Syed Saleh Ali Hashmi, Kiran Fahim Ali, Saim Sohail, Indu Verma, Mawiz Hassan, Tresa Ratnakumar

School board trustees

Milton residents have several choices for trustees on the Halton District School Board and Halton Catholic District School Board. Candidates for the Conseil Scolaire Viamonde and Conseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenir have been acclaimed.

  • Halton District School Board Wards 1&2: Donna Danielli elected : Joanne Mazur, Rafiqa Sayed, Sukhdev Walia.
  • Halton District School Board Wards 3&4: Naveed Ahmed elected : Hunter Culhane, Aman Singh Hans, Jaxx Swadi and Tabassum Wyne.
  • Halton Catholic District School Board Wards 1&4: Marvin Duarte elected : Nikki Borge and John Spina.
  • Halton Catholic District School Board Wards 2&3: Emma Murphy elected : Edosa Adams-Idode, Katherine Cirlincione.


  • Conseil Scolaire Viamonde: Pierre Gregory (acclaimed)
  • Conseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenir: Dominique Janssens (acclaimed)
insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising