Liberals sweep all five Brampton ridings on way to minority government


Published September 21, 2021 at 11:20 am

In a federal election that changed very little, Justin Trudeau and the Liberal Party of Canada will form another minority government.

In addition, all five incumbent Liberal candidates in Brampton were returned to office fairly easily.

The returning Brampton MPs are: Shafqat Ali, Brampton Centre; Maninder Sidhu, Brampton East; Ruby Sahota, Brampton North; Kamal Khera, Brampton West.

In all five races, the Conservative candidate finished second and the NDP finished third.

The local MPs will be asked by Brampton city officials to focus on a list of priorities that were presented to the federal parties during the campaign.

The list was mainly transit based, including the continuation of moving towards electric buses as well as burying the under-construction Hurontario LRT underground through the historic downtown area.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies

Related News