Liberals re-elected to all Brampton ridings


Published September 20, 2021 at 11:32 pm

Liberals elected across Brampton

All of Brampton’s four federal ridings have been called for the Liberal Party of Canada, who are projected to form at least a minority government.

Brampton Centre

Liberal incumbent Shafqat Ali has been elected to his first term in Ottawa. He replaces Liberal Ramesh Sangha who was ousted from Liberal Caucus in January.

Ali won 46 per cent of the vote in the tightest race in Brampton. The Conservative runner-up Jagdeep Singh claimed 33 per cent.

Brampton East

Liberal MP Maninder Sidhu has held onto his Brampton East seat. He was first elected in 2019. Sidhu’s victory was declared with 53 per cent of the vote with 33 of 201 polling stations reporting. Conservative runner-up, Naval Bajaj, pulled 30 per cent. Gail Bannister-Clarke of the NDP received 14 per cent and PPC candidate Manjeet Singh pulled two per cent.

Brampton North

Liberal MP Ruby Sahota has been re-elected for the third time. She defeated Conservative Medha Joshi with 52 percent of the vote, to Joshi’s 31 per cent. NDP candidate Teresa Yeh pulled 16 per cent. Sahota has held this seat since 2015.

Brampton West

Liberal Kamal Khera has been also re-elected. She netted 52 per cent of the vote with 40 of 201 polls reporting. Her closest runner-up Conservative Jermaine Chambers who had 29 per cent at the call. Khera was also first elected in 2015. The NDP’s Gandeet Grill pulled 14 percent. PPC candidate Rahul Zia got three per cent.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies

Related News