Here’s Who’s Running in Brampton’s Municipal Election

Published May 14, 2018 at 3:16 pm

With the provincial election behind us, it’s time to start thinking about Brampton’s municipal election, which is coming up this fall.

With the provincial election behind us, it’s time to start thinking about Brampton’s municipal election, which is coming up this fall.

And there’s already a lot going on when it comes to who’s running in this year’s election.

The municipal election campaigning period began on May 1, which is when candidates were able to start registering to run in the October election.

Once someone puts down their filing fee and gets 25 signatures endorsing their candidacy, they can start raising money and campaigning as a candidate.

For this year’s municipal election cycle, there are three periods to take note of when it come to finding out who is running: May 1, where there is much fanfare over being “the first out of the gate”, after the June 7 provincial election (where there could be former MPPs and candidates looking to run for municipal office), and the last day to register on July 27 at 2 p.m., where there is the possibility of a last minute scramble of candidates signing up.

There are at least five pending vacancies in the council of Canada’s ninth largest city, with the announced retirements of Coun. Gael Miles, Coun. Elaine Moore and Coun. Grant Gibson, and Coun. Gurpreet Dhillon intending to seek a Regional Council seat.

Coun. Miles’ departure from Brampton Wards 7 & 8 has led to City Coun. Pat Fortini (who represents the same wards only for the city level) to seek the Regional seat Miles is leaving.

As for Fortini’s current seat, it is being sought by former 2012 federal NDP leadership candidate Martin Singh, who also ran as a MP candidate in Brampton North in the 2015 election. A recent release announced Singh’s intentions alongside Fortini’s, giving the impression that the two men are running some kind of joint slate in Wards 7 & 8.

With Dhillon moving onto Regional Council, his city council seat in Wards 9 & 10 has one candidate that may sound familiar to some: Harkirat Singh, the current Peel school board trustee for the same area.

Other incumbent Brampton councillors such as city Coun. Jeff Bowman (Wards 3 & 4), regional Coun. Martin Medeiros (Wards 3 & 4), city Coun. Doug Whillans (Wards 2 & 6) and regional Coun. Mike Palleschi (Wards 2 & 6) have also registered to run for reelection. Palleschi was rumoured to be running for mayor, but it looks like he’s sticking to his current job, for now.

Speaking of the Brampton mayor, Linda Jeffrey is facing Brampton lawyer Wesley Jackson and Omar Mansoury.

Other non-incumbent candidates include Mario Russo, a property manager running for regional council for Wards 1 & 5, Daryl Romeo (running in the same wards for city council) and paralegal Michael Gyovai, running for Peel school board trustee in Wards 7 & 8 against incumbent Carrie Andrews.

You can see a real time updated list on the links provided. Brampton municipal election candidates and Peel Regional Chair election candidates list. A completed list will be provided on once July 27 has passed.

The municipal election is happening on October 22, 2018.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising