Green light! Niagara gets necessary votes for single region-wide transit system


Published December 22, 2021 at 11:24 am

And then there were seven… the fitting finale of the “triple majority” needed to move forward towards getting a single, integrated transit system across the entire Niagara Region.

The triple majority was a three-pronged approach. First, Niagara Regional Council has the pass of the motion at that level. They did so late November.

The next two approvals needed were a majority of the municipal councils agreeing but they also had to represent a majority of the Niagara Region population.

The majority of the population was attained when Fort Erie, Niagara Falls and St. Catharines passed their approval earlier this month, representing slightly more than half the region’s residents.

All that remained was the majority of the municipal councils. On December 13, Grimsby and Port Colborne passed their approval, making five of the 12 municipalities. Thus far, only Welland council dissented, citing a need for clearer financials and a large stake on the new transit commission.

Finally, on Monday (December 20) Niagara-on-the-Lake council gave their thumbs up followed by Thorold council last night. With seven of the 12 municipalities onboard, the third criteria of the triple majority was fulfilled.

Niagara Regional Council will now create the new unified transit commission sometime in March while municipalities will decide which of their council members will serve on the commission.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising