Government providing free day-use passes for 115 provincial parks across Ontario


Published May 28, 2021 at 7:03 pm


The Province has announced it will be providing free, day-use permits for residents to visit provincial parks.

The passes are intended to help make enjoying nature more affordable and accessible—they’ll be available for 115 provincial parks across Ontario.

The Province says visitors will be able to obtain a pass for their vehicle up to five days in advance of their arrival for 17 parks, including Algonquin, Arrowhead, Batchawana Bay, Craigleith, Darlington, Forks of the Credit, Kakabeka Falls, Kettle Lakes, Lake Superior, Long Point, Mono Cliffs, North Beach, Pinery, Presqu’ile, Sandbanks, Sibbald Point, and Turkey Point.

Vehicle permits are mandatory for all visitors, even those using a free day-use pass.

Currently, provincial parks are open for day-use activities, such as walking and hiking, overnight stays are currently prohibited—they will be permitted when Ontario enters Step One of the Roadmap to Reopen.

“Getting outdoors and spending time in nature can have many positive benefits on our physical and mental health this summer, as we recover from the impacts of COVID-19,” Jeff Yurek, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks, said in a news release.

“That’s why our government is making it easier for people to safely enjoy nature by providing free day-use permits and making it possible to book day trips in advance, which guarantees access to the popular parks close to home,” he continued.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies

Related News