Former Harper chief of staff to head Conservative leadership race rules committee


Published February 17, 2022 at 11:24 am

OTTAWA — The Conservative party is turning to a one-time chief of staff to former prime minister Stephen Harper to head the committee setting the rules for the party’s leadership race.

Ian Brodie, now an associate professor at the University of Calgary, will chair the leadership election organizing committee that includes 20 other members.

The party’s constitution requires the creation of a committee to determine the rules and procedures to be used as members prepare to select a permanent replacement for Erin O’Toole.

Among the other key members of the committee are James Dodds, who chairs the Conservative Fund Canada, Ontario MP Eric Duncan, Quebec Sen. Judith Seidman, former Harper cabinet minister Leona Aglukkaq and former Yukon premier Darrell Pasloski.

The Conservative caucus voted recently to oust O’Toole amid growing discontent with his leadership following last year’s general election loss.

Manitoba MP Candice Bergen was selected as the party’s interim leader until a permanent one is chosen.

So far, the only entrant in the race is Ottawa-area MP Pierre Poilievre, who has already garnered some supporters in caucus.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Feb. 17, 2022.

The Canadian Press

INsauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising