Crown Lands, Judgement highlight Oshawa Music Awards nominations


Published July 21, 2021 at 4:52 pm


Voting is now open for the fourth annual Oshawa Music Awards, with music fans across Durham Region invited to make their picks in seven categories.

Juno-winning prog-rockers Crown Lands and post-hardcore bangers Judgement lead the way with three nominations each, with Tania Joy, Hunter Sheridan, Hollow Sage and the Three Mile Islanders and Gal George Gurin adding a pair of nominations as well.

The announcements happened Tuesday morning, with Tania Joy, an Uxbridge folk-roots artist, handling host duties from the historic Biltmore Theatre in downtown Oshawa.

The winners of the OMAs – a re-branding is underway to reflect both the Oshawa roots of the awards and the fact that eligibility for the nominations is Durham-wide – will be announced at three ceremonies this September.

The OMAs showcase local talent and acknowledge those who contribute to the growth of music and culture in Durham.
Notable past nominees and award winners include multi-platinum award-winning producer Jeff Dalziel, Juno award-winning indie-pop group Dizzy, former Guess Who guitarist Dale Russell, pop superstar Shawn Mendes, and Bill and David Wilson of Wilson & Lee Music Store.

The OMAs mission statement is “to celebrate the development of local music talent and culture” within Durham Region and to acknowledge “key contributors” that aid in the growth of Durham’s music business economy, providing a platform that “highlights and nurtures its progression.”

The seven award categories for 2021 which fans get a chance to vote on are:

• Single of the Year – Crown Lands (Context: Fearless Pt. 1); Hunter Sheridan (To You My Friend; Valdii (The Mirror)
• Album of the Year – Crown Lands; Hollow Sage & the Three Mile Islanders (Nuclear Home); Hunter Sheridan (Life is a Dream)
• Music Video of the Year – Lifeline (Dead Defined); Gal George Gurin (Secret); Judgement (Define Alive)
• Songwriter of the Year – Judgement; Tania Joy; The Rockin Krolik
• Song of the Year – Daniel Raymond (115); Gal George Gurin (I Don’t Want to Meet You in Heaven); Tania Joy (Planks and Marietta)
• Emerging Artist or Band of the Year – Hollowsage and the Three Mile Islanders; Nerima; Nothing Special

Tuesday’s nomination ceremony also served as the platform to name the Lifetime Achievement/Hall of Fame inductees, which this year included three recipients and the 2021 Music Industry Leader of the Year winner.

Artemis Chartier earned Leader of the Year honours, while three Lifetime Achievement/Hall of Fame selections were made: Ivan Berry, Andy Gondek and Al Cole.

Gondek and Cole were honoured posthumously.

A tenth category – Music Teacher(s) of the Year – will be made in September.

Eligible nominees and performers must be born, reside, and/or work in Durham Region to be eligible for nomination. For bands to be eligible, 50 per cent of band members must have a background from Durham Region.

This year’s OMAs are presented by Durham Region’s Economic Development and Tourism department, with partners Spark Centre, Trent University Durham, 360Insights, 94.9 The Rock, Durham College’s Music Business Management Program, Long & McQuade Musical Instruments, and the Biltmore Theatre.

For more information about the #OMAs2021 and to vote, visit

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising