Community members recognized for their commitment to Burlington


Published June 25, 2024 at 6:19 pm

Burlington awards civic community residents

Residents, community groups and a rock band were honoured at the civic awards ceremony in Burlington last night (June. 24).

The awards were handed out to those who were recognized for their contributions to life in the city through volunteerism and deeds that have put Burlington on the map.

In May of this year, the City of Burlington announced a new civic recognition initiative to celebrate the individuals and groups who volunteer to make Burlington better. Nominated individuals or groups have demonstrated a high level of achievement in one of the following areas:

  • Contributed significantly to the quality of life in the community through volunteer efforts
  • Identified and addressed a priority need in the community and put a solution into action
  • Achieved provincial, national, or international recognition and, in doing so, have brought honour to the City of Burlington

Here are the recipients of the civic recognition:

  • Burlington Historical Society – For 74 years, the Burlington Historical Society has been dedicated to preserving and sharing Burlington’s history. Their initiative, the archives, is located in Burlington Public Library’s Central Branch. Through the initiative, volunteers collect and preserve paper records and photographs related to the people and places of Burlington, from 1780 to today. Executive board members include Don Thorpe, President; Nicola Thomson, Vice President; Joan Downey, Treasurer; Pat Taylor, Secretary; Alan Harrington, Director; Jennifer Kemp, Director.
  • Connie Price – With more than 55 years of volunteer service, Connie has a deep love for seniors. Connie is the Chair of the Seniors Committee on the Partnering Aldershot group; the treasurer of the Burlington Seniors Community Initiative, advocating for the wellbeing of Burlington’s seniors; and a member of the Halton Age Friendly Network. These are just a few of the organizations she supports.
  • Helga Cuddy – Combining her commitment to volunteering with her passion for tennis, Helga has volunteered with the North Burlington Tennis Club in Kilbride for 29 years. She is a supporter of physical education, coordinating a free tennis lesson program for children in Kilbride Public School.
  • Jamie Fisher – Jamie is a champion of rural Burlington and agriculture, serving as President of the Halton Region Federation of Agriculture and Halton Agricultural Advisory Committee for the past 30 years. Through his volunteer work, he has helped lead discussions and input on the Official Plan, natural heritage system planning, and the private tree bylaw.
  • Janet Lucas – Janet has made feeding breakfast to grade school children her mission. For the last 10 years, Janet has provided a breakfast program at King Road School every Thursday morning, serving approximately 80 students.
  • Kimberly Calderbank – Kimberley started volunteering as a youth and has carried this passion through all stages of her life. From arts and culture to aquatics and mentoring young professionals, Kimberley is actively involved in many local committees and organizations throughout the city.
  • Peter Knoepfli – Peter is one of the founders of the Rotary Club of Burlington Lakeshore Charitable Foundation. The foundation provides scholarships, bursaries, fellowships, prizes and financial assistance to students living in Ontario, particularly in Burlington. Over his 30 years of volunteering with the foundation, over $500,000 has been awarded to students.
  • Rural Ward 6 Advisory Committee – Through engagement with the community, the Rural Ward 6 Advisory Committee identified a need for better internet connectivity in rural Burlington. Their advocacy work secured $1.3 million in funding from the federal government’s Universal Broadband Fund for the installation of fibre-to-the-home service. Members include Sheilagh Borcsok, Margaret Doma, Wilma Jacobs, Richard Lesueur, Jennifer Lickver, Vincent Sowa, Peter Spitzer.

Key to the City recipients

Also recognized at the ceremony were the recipients of the 2024 Key to the City. Launched by Mayor Marianne Meed Ward in 2019, the Key to the City program honours individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to our community.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

  • Dan Lawrie – Dan Lawrie is the mind behind the International Sculpture Collection at the Royal Botanical Gardens (RBG) and the Burlington Waterfront Sculpture Trail, featuring the works of Canadian artists throughout downtown Burlington. Dan has made significant contributions to the local business and arts communities, including on the board of the Art Gallery, the Burlington Museums Foundation, and as a supporter of the annual Telling Tales Festival at the RBG.
  • Spoons – In the 1980s, the band Spoons helped put Canada on the music-world map. Vocalist/guitarist Gordon Deppe and vocalist/bassist Sandy Horne founded Spoons in 1979 while attending Aldershot High School. They would add keyboardist Rob Preuss and drummer Derrick Ross to release their first album in 1981, based on life growing up in Burlington. Never forgetting their roots, Spoons have returned to perform in Burlington at the Sound of Music Festival, a charity concert in 2015 to help fundraise for the new Aldershot High School theatre, and in 2023 at Burlington’s Canada Day celebrations.
INsauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising