Candidates set for Oakville’s 2022 municipal election


Published August 22, 2022 at 12:34 pm

Voter notices for the Oct. 24, 2022 municipal election are making their way to the mailboxes of eligible voters in Oakville this week. PEXELS IMAGE

Oakville has its final candidates for this fall’s municipal election.

With the deadline for entrants passing on Friday (Aug. 19), only four councillors are running unopposed.

Unopposed council candidates include Ward 2 Town Councillor Ray Chisholm, Ward 2 Town and Regional Councillor Cathy Duddeck, Ward 3 Town and Regional Councillor Janet Haslett-Theall, and Ward 6 Town and Regional Councillor Tom Adams.

The four councillors will be officially elected later Monday (Aug. 22) at 4 p.m.

The battle for the mayor’s chair will be a three-way race this year. Current Mayor Rob Burton is seeking his fifth term at the helm of Oakville councill and will face a familiar opponent in Julia Hanna.

Jack Kukolic has also thrown his hat into the ring to make it a three-way race.

Burton defeated Hanna in the 2018 election, finishing with 22,918 votes to edge out Hanna by 3,487 votes. John McLaughlin was a distant third with 3,816 votes.

The municipal election will be held Monday, Oct. 24.

Here’s a list of those officially running for council in this year’s municipal election:



Incumbent – Rob Burton

Julia Hannah

Jack Kukolic



Town Councillor

Incumbent – Beth Robertson

John Florio

Jonathan McNeice

Oliver Vadas

Town and Regional  Councillor

Incumbent – Sean O’Meara

JD Meany



Town Councillor

Acclaimed – Ray Chisholm

Town and Regional Councillor

Acclaimed – Cathy Duddeck



Town Councillor

Incumbent – Dave Gittings

Dyanne Dumas

Town and Regional Councillor

Acclaimed – Janet Haslett-Theall



Town Councillor

Incumbent – Peter Longo

Gordon Brennan

Town and Regional Councillor

Incumbent – Allan Elgar

Gilbert Jubinville



Town Councillor

Incumbent – Marc Grant

Angela Parsons

Michael Reid

Pierre Sauvageot

Town and Regional Councillor

Incumbent – Jeff Knoll

Alicia Bedford



Town Councillor

Incumbent – Natalia Lishchyna

Lama Aggad

Town and Regional Councillor

Acclaimed – Tom Adams



Town Councillor

Nabil Bin Arif

Kashif Chaudry

Faryal Ghazanfar

Amir Henry

Shahab Khan

Gregory Park

Ajay Rosha

Melody Wong-Gonsalves

Scott Xie

Town and Regional Councillor

Incumbent – Pavan Parmar

Nav Nanda

INsauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising