Canadian cricketers set for ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier in Oman


Published February 1, 2022 at 3:34 pm

TORONTO — Navneet Dhaliwal will captain Canada at the ICC 2022 T20 World Cup Qualifier later this month in Oman.

The eight-team event is one of two final global qualifiers for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Canada is in Group A with Nepal, Oman, and the Philippines. Group B features Bahrain, Germany, Ireland, and the United Arab Emirates.

Ireland and Oman qualified for the tournament by virtue of being eliminated in the first round of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, while Nepal and the U.A.E. booked their slots via their rankings in the ICC MRF Tyres Men’s T20I Team rankings.

The other teams advanced through regional qualifying tournaments with the U.S. and Canada finishing 1-2 at the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier in November in Antigua.

The Canadian team is scheduled to leave Wednesday with two warmup matches against Germany before opening against the Philippines on Feb. 18. 

The Oman tournament runs through Feb. 24..

Each team plays the others in its group, followed by classification matches. The two finalists will qualify for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia later this year. Canada has yet to qualify for the T20 World Cup.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B is scheduled for July 11-17 in Harare with Hong Kong, Jersey, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Uganda, the U.S. and host Zimbabwe taking part.

“Seventy teams started the qualification process for this event, and we’ve now reached the final stages with four spots at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 set to be decided in two global qualifiers starting with this one in Oman,” ICC head of events Chris Tetley said in a statement.


Navneet Dhaliwal (capt.), Dilon Heyliger, Rishiv Joshi, Jatinder Matharu, Shreyas Moova, Salman Nazar, Rayyan Pathan, Kaleem Sana, Junaid Siddiqui, Ravinderpal Singh, Matthew Spoors, Hamza Tarik, Harsh Thakkar, Saad Zafar 


Sahid Ahmedzai, Akash Gill, Romel Sahzad, Bhupinder Sohal, Kanwarpal Tathgur, Uday Walia, Simran Virk.

Manager: Carlos Ragoonath.

Coach: Amrinder Bhinder.

Fielding coach: Daulat Khan.

Bowling coach: Khurram Chohan.

Physio: Ankur Sharma.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Feb. 1, 2022.

The Canadian Press

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising