Burlington councillors unanimous in desire to be re-elected in October


Published March 3, 2022 at 1:25 pm

All six current members of Burlington’s city council have confirmed exclusively to Inhalton.com they plan to run for another term in October’s elections.

Only Mayor Marianne Meed Ward remains to reveal her plans, which she said she plans to do closer to the May 2 opening of the nomination period.

The six current ward councillors who have confirmed their desire to be reelected are:

  • Ward 1 – Kelvin Galbraith
  • Ward 2 – Lisa Kearns
  • Ward 3 – Rory Nisan
  • Ward 4 – Shawna Stolte
  • Ward 5 – Paul Sharman
  • Ward 6 – Angelo Bentivegna

The next municipal election will be held Monday, Oct. 24, and the new council will officially take over on Nov. 15. Municipal elections in Ontario are held every four years.

Some of the key dates leading up to the election for prospective councillors, mayors and school board trustees are:

  • Nomination period is May 2, to Aug. 18
  • Nomination day is Aug. 19
  • Certification of nominations is Aug. 22
  • Election signs permitted Aug. 20 to Oct. 26
  • Term of new council is Nov. 15, 2022, to Nov. 14, 2026
insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising