Big drop in advance voting numbers for Milton byelection


Published April 29, 2024 at 9:58 am

Milton byelection advance poll

Advance voting in Milton for Thursday’s byelection was down by about half when compared to the 2022 general election.

Preliminary figures from Elections Ontario indicate that 6,511 voters (or 6.6 per cent of registered voters) in Milton cast their ballot in advance of the May 2 byelection.

In comparison, 11,520 voters (or 12.6 per cent of registered voters) in Milton voted before polling day in the 2022 general election.

Miltonians are heading to the polls to elect a replacement for former Conservative MPP Parm Gill, who stepped down in order to make a run at a federal seat.

Vying to replace him are:

  • Zee Hamid — Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario
  • Kyle Hutton — Green Party of Ontario
  • Galen Naidoo Harris — Ontario Liberal Party
  • John Spina — New Blue Party
  • Edie Strachan — New Democratic Party
  • John Turmel — Independent
  • Arabella Vida — Independent
  • Tony Walton — Family Rights
  • Frederick Weening — Ontario Party

You can still vote until May 1 at 6 p.m. at your returning office.

On May 2, polls will be open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

For more information about the voting process, visit Elections Ontario.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising