Animation students at Oakville’s Sheridan College take top prize at international competition


Published October 28, 2020 at 4:02 pm

Sheridan College students have taken top honours in an international animation contest.

Several teams from the Oakville campus of Sheridan took part in the 24 Hours Animation Contest for Students held virtually earlier this month. Seven Sheridan teams finished in the top 15.

Students competed in groups of five who had to come up with an idea, create a storyboard and animate a 30-second short film within 24 hours around the theme: ‘How has the pandemic affected you?’

The judging panel has since selected the film A Ray of Hope by the group Au Revoir Hands as the first place winning entry. The filmtells the story of two children whose play time is interrupted by people in medical masks, symbolic of the physical distancing measures put in place during the pandemic. The children find a new, creative way to connect from their apartment windows, albeit at a distance.

Members of the winning team are Nikita Greer, Jeremy Tsujita, Anita Ciprino, Guillermo Botero and Amelia Tsai.

Mario Positano, Animation Department professor who served as advisor for Sheridan students on the challenge, was thrilled with their showing. “The contest is an impressive display of our students’ bravery, passion for their craft, and dedication to their learning,” he said.

Prizes for this year’s contest totalled $170,000. The three Sheridan teams in the top five have earned an opportunity to meet with Disney representatives to receive feedback on their films.

“Even if students don’t place, it’s an invaluable learning experience,” says Positano. “This contest will prepare them for their next film or challenge as budding animators.”

Here is the list of Sheridan prize winning teams.

  • 1st place: Au Revoir Hands – Nikita Greer, Jeremy Tsujita, Anita Ciprino, Guillermo Botero and Amelia Tsai
  • 2nd place: Rat Den – Alaine Baybayan, Liza Desyatkova, Hadas Rosen, Cici Rose Vogan-Lowe and Jill Pinkney.
  • 4th place: The Five Da Vinkys – Sophia Santos, Zoe Xu, Angie He, Angel Levert and Jisoo Choi
  • 6th place: Accounting 101: The Ultimate Guide to Accounting Basics – Jungwoo Cho, Luba Bobrowski, Sydney Roy, Teresa Futado and Rin Cogil
  • 7th place: Scrumptious Studios – Steven Ross, Emily Oh, Brooke Morgan, Carson Olesch, Kaz Islam
  • 12th place: FIYYAA
  • 13th place: We Animate Pretty-ok

Now in our 18th year, the 24 Hours Animation Contest for students challenges its participants to create a 30 second film based on a given theme in a designated 24 hour period. Teams work from their home school and submit a YouTube link of their films before the deadline, which are judged by industry artists.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising