Six Mississauga MPs among Liberal minority government


Published September 21, 2021 at 1:26 am

Omar Alghabra elbows Trudea

Mississauga stayed reliably red on Monday, when the Liberal Party of Canada continued its trend of winning minority governments by winning densely populated urban ridings.

All six ridings in the city are among the 125 most urbanized ridings in Canada, according to 338. While the national seat counts will not change, the Liberals signed agreements on $10 per day child care with eight of the 10 provincial governments before the election, and were hailed as having the most realistic climate-change plan. (Ontario is one of the holdouts on child care.)

Mississauga’s cadre of representatives will include four members of Parliament who will serve a third term in a Trudeau government — Omar Alghabra, Peter Fonseca, Iqra Khalid and Sven Spengemann.

In Mississauga—Streetsville, Liberal Rechie Valdez has become the first Filapino-Canadian woman elected to the House of Commons. Another rookie Liberal MP, Iqwinder Gaheer in Mississauga-Malton, was elected handily in the seat vacated by former cabinet minister Navdeep Bains.

As of 1:20 a.m. on Tuesday (Sept. 21), it appeared the Liberals, the  Conservative Party of Canada (CPC) and Bloc Québécois are all going to have virtually the same seat counts that they had after the 2019 election. Global News showed the Liberals elected or leading in 158 seats and the CPC elected or leading in 121, with the Bloc Québécois pencilled or penned into 32. The New Democratic Party, under leader Jagmeet Singh, may get 27, and the Green Party has two.

In 2019, the Liberal-CPC-Bloc count went 157-121-32. The The NDP stand to gain three, with the Green Party losing one.

InSauga is providing live election results. There is a possibility of close races not being official until no earlier than Wednesday, since mail-in ballots will not be counted until Tuesday (Sept. 21).

Here is a riding-by-riding look in Mississauga:


Spengemann won by a five-point margin (44-39) over CPC challenger Michael Ras. That’s a more than 2,100-vote margin. The NDP, represented by Sarah Walji, is getting 10 per cent.

Thirty-three of the 254 polls in the riding have not reported.

Mississauga Centre

Liberal incumbent Omar Alghabra has been returned with 54 per cent support, nearly doubling the CPC’s Kathy-Ying Zhao (28.0). Only four polls are not reported.

Teneshia Samuel of the NDP earned 11.0 per cent of the vote.

Mississauga East—Cooksville

Fonseca (49.0) has a 5,100-vote margin over Conservative Grace Adamu (32.0). The NDP’s Tom Takacs (10.0) is well behind.

Both the Liberals and Conservatives stand to receive less support than they did in the riding in 2019.

Mississauga—Erin Mills

Khalid was returned to Parliament with an 18-point margin (51-33) over the Conservatives’ James Nguyen (32.0, 622).

The NDP candidate, Kaukab Usman (10.0) ran third.


Valdez has won by 13 points (47-34) over the CPC’s Jasveen Rattan’s 32.0. The spread is 6,876 votes.


Gaheer held the riding that was one represented by former cabinet minister Navdeep Bains. He has received 53 per cent support to the 30.0 of the CPC’s Clyde Roach.

The NDP’s Waseem Ahmed is getting 14 per cent, the best of any NDP candidate in Mississauga.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising